Saturday, 28 January 2012

Introducing.... FA YUEN STREET!


Today, I am going to introduce a place called Fa Yuen Street aka 花园街!Superbly awesome place to do some shopping but you probably got to be more patient since the shops are mostly on the two sides so maybe must walk the same street twice if you want to capture both shops.

How to get there? Take to Prince Edward MTR and Exit B2 (then you just follow the signs) 
Really near, probably 1 street away from the exit (:

BRAS

What to do there? Well for the girls, there is an ultimate bra heaven there. The shop name is called "UNDERWEAR". Lol. Literally. Check out all those that I am holding. Favorite got to the Turquoise and Dark Blue combination ones! So chio! (: Look like bikini.

Cheaper bras are at HKD9 (wtf that is like S$1.50!!!) but of course, no padding and the straps are not the most comfy ones but come on, S$1.50?!

The normal bras are at HKD19 for just the bra and HKD29 for the whole set. Okay, exclaim together with me! S$5 for one whole set?!?!?! And they are quite comfy! Really!

Point to note: big boobs people I am sorry, the bigger sizes are not the functional type of bras so I don't think y'all can wear! SORRY!


CLOTHES
Well, the clothes here are not really that much worth a mention cos afterall clothes in Hong Kong (ok fine ladies clothes) are generally cheap! 

Price range: HKD39.90 (for those bodycon party dresses, yes wtf) to HKD1XX (for knitted wear)

Would recommend Shen Shui Po more for clothes though. 


GONGCHAAAAA
All you bubble tea lovers! :D


Fa Yuen Street from the Prince Edward Exit is basically segmented into two parts! A and B (You'll encounter A first duh!)! A has lots of shoes and clothes and whatnot. The previous bra shop that I mentioned is located in Part B! In between A and B, there is .... GONGCHA! Whee!

Okay, that excitement is actually forced cos I have already found a bubble tea that is way way way nicer than Gongcha called Happy Lemon! I will blog about that when I blog about New Town Mall :) Hee

Anyway, I think I am too pampered by Singapore Gong cha? Or is it that the standards here dropped? No longer think it's that delicious ley! :/ Weird.


GOD DAMN SPICY FISHBALLS!



All you who think that you can handle spicy food, GOT TO TRY THIS. It's located at the end of part B (: Where you are forced to take an overhead bridge. DONT take it and just turn left and you'll see 劲辣鱼旦!

Swear to God this is the most spicy fishballs I have ever eaten. By the time I was done eating it, I was perspiring all over man! Phew but I conquered it! Not like my lousy friend wanru who gave up after 3 balls -.-


Food food food. The one in the background of the picture are mine! I finished most of them! The ones in the foreground belong to Wanru who gave up! HAHAHAS! 

The chee cheong fun here is superbly delicious too! Love it! A little ex though, close to S$2 -.-


Okay, that's about it for Fa Yuen Street. I think girls can combine the shopping trip to Fa Yuen Street with Mong Kok :) One whole day here will drive you nuts and burn a hole in your wallet.

And of course, you'll go home with 2 lifetimes worth of bras. Lol (I really bought damn a lot -.-)

Thursday, 26 January 2012

They form the definition of friends


Remember me talking about my character being too demanding towards friends? I think I am spoilt by the above 8 people (1 missing - Su Ting cos she's not in Singapore). 

When you have one bunch of really close friends, you really can't help but just rely on them and lean on them for everything. I am not saying that other friends (like my other secondary school friends and uni friends) don't matter but you know the feeling of contentment? 

It's like with this bunch of friends plus a few others like Tiffany Wong, my life is complete. 

They give in to me like no other and they understand me like no other too! Although they make me helpless like no other too yawns- The whatsapp convo with them tonight almost killed my heart. 


Anyway, what triggered this blog post was because we were having this epic round of truth or dare over whatsapp and there was a warm fuzzy feeling of togetherness that was resurfacing throughout the conversation. It's amazing how we never really knew about one another's relationships but had the chemistry to not probe deeper. But when someone starts asking, there's no hiding from one another. Sigh, these babies are really the treasures of my life. 

When I'm lost in a foreign country, the first person I text is Wenyi. When I am going on an overseas trip, the first person I call is Pinghui (to help me pack luggage). There are so many small incidents that can prove my reliance on them. Please don't step out of my life ok!! I will cry you a river.

Alright, shall get back to whatsapp them, researching for articles and ... reading my Huan Zhu Gege fanfics. Lol. 

Bye friends. Shopping post up soon! :D 

Saturday, 21 January 2012

Clubbing in Hong Kong and awesome beef noodles

And so it started with Thursday night at Lan Kwai Fong. Crazy night :/ 

 
 



 I really think that clubbing really bonds people to a certain extent. Or at least it acts as an icebreaker because you would have seen the ugliest side of that person. It was just an epic night. 

Nope, I was sober throughout. Okay, maybe a little dizzy and giddy but I was conscious and able to control my actions so I classify that as sober :D 

The night started off really AWKWARD. Everyone was too sober and no one was dancing. Everyone was just standing around while the caucasians around us were having the time of their lives. (I mean what's new right?) At this point of time, my mind was calling out for help from Magnus who was far away in Singapore :( And of course Wenyi who was in Canada. 

But by our second drink (girls get free Cosmopolitian at a certain bar so we went there for pre drinks), everyone was more high (as can be seen from my red face). 


And so, we headed to ... Shake Shake. Apparently this club is really popz with the exchange students cos we met SO MANY friends there -.- 




The clubbing experience here was pretty good. But one piece of advice to whoever is intending to come to Hong Kong and club, the clubs here don't start filling up till it's like 1am? So maybe you'd like to go elsewhere and get pre drinks and only start entering at 1am :) 

We didn't stay for long because we had to take care of the drunk friends. Omg they are seriously too embarrassing but seriously funny too! 

One wanted egg tart (Deena - the one who has bangs and long brown hair!), another want to smoke ALL the time and kept shouting to random strangers and asking them for cigarettes (Wanru - the one with bangs and short hair), and the last one just kept rolling on the floor (Frances - the sexiest one!!!)

Too funny such people. Had to lug them home but it was still an awesome experience all in all (I always seem to be the ambulance among all my friends). Alcohol effect seriously wears off too fast for me :( 


OH OH OH AND I MUST SAY SOMETHING!!!
I managed to remember my boyfriend's handphone number in my almost drunken state (I don't even remember his number in normal states so yeah, it's a BIG deal). So proud of myself :D HEEE!

This is today! World's longest escalator! We went to have dinner (awesome beef noodles, seriously! Will blog about it when I get the exact address!) and head to the Chinese New Year market at Causeway Bay :D 


 This has seriously got to be the BEST eggtart I've eaten thus far. Maybe I will change my verdict after trying the Macau one. Will let y'all know :D This is in Central! Will go find out the exact address!

Frances and Peggy! :D  

Elsa, Deena and I! 

Act cute duo -.-''' 

On the dingding bus of Hong Kong! 


The flowers are so vibrant!!! We are at the Chinese New Year Park at Victoria Park (near Causeway Bay MTR!)

I love this! 

I can't believe it! They are singing hymns like it is Christmas. It's pretty funny. 

LOOK AT THE CRAZY CROWD! 

There is even a booth set up for lost kids. Poor things. 

Crazy man with crazy hair!

And we ended this epicly squeezy and tiring night playing the card game - BANG! It has got to be the most exciting game ever. Quite funny!! 

Time check: 3.24am. Need to sleep like NOW so that I can wake up tomorrow and eat the best Cha Can Ting (Teahouse) in Hong Kong. Supposedly. Alright, goodnight people. I will blog about food locations soon! Just in case some of you want to travel to Hong Kong in the future :D HEE! Love y'all! 

Goodnight. xoxo

Wednesday, 18 January 2012

Character


I think there is a secret side of me that feels really alone and lonely at times. I mean, I am outgoing, I am friendly, I am fun-loving. But maybe it's the judgemental character that I have innate in me (okay fine I know the boyfriend is going to say character can be moulded) that keeps me from having many good friends. 

Then again, why would you need so many good friends for?

Okay, I know I know, I should be less judgemental if I want to be comfortable with more people. Le sigh. I understand it all but it's just so difficult to change. Boyfriend was whatsapp-ing me today and he was just saying that I am seriously too judgemental for my own good and that people's lives do not revolve around me so I can't expect their actions to be of my liking.

I guess, that's true.. I tend to get annoyed by people's actions. But I honestly think that it's human nature? I think some of my actions may have offended you, but it's just that you don't tell me (okay the "you" here just refers to a person in general who knows me). It's just that I complain to my boyfriend that I don't have close friends here on exchange. And he said, "what do you expect? You should have expected that with your character."

I honestly came with a thinking that I would be able to make close friends here.

I guess I was too naive?

Hmmm, yeah, I think it'd actually take a lot to change my personality but well, I am still gonna try. But I still don't think I will be able to cut down on the whinings and complaining for the next few months. Let's just hope this exchange will shape my character into a more likeable one. 


Maybe secretly all my friends hate me. 

Well, that was a thought that bugged me during my auditing class, and yeah, tears were kinda circling in my eyes. Sucks to have that though. ): Well, if you, who is reading this, hate me, I'm sorry ): 

Bah, only child sucks. Goodbye. 

Monday, 16 January 2012

Week 2 in Hong Kong


Went to Lamma Island of the weekend. The scenary there is seriously too awesome. And I guess it's pretty relaxing to take a break from the City life in Hong Kong island. I miss the fresh air there!!


Snipped snipped snipped off my hair :D heeheehee! But I think I look like Wang Cai Hua -.- Like the hair lah. Sian. 

My roomie is quarrelling with her girlfriend again. Why why why. Stop quarrelling and hurry go to sleep lah please -.- I also want to go to sleep soon. Anyway, the good thing about this week is that, I get to clear 4 cores!!!!!! :D Omg i am damn happy. AB214, AB311, AA301 and AA304! Meepmeepmeep. But I am clearing 4 cores 2 electives this semester. I think I am going to die from this semester! :( 

There are so many things to do this semester. Die already but the good thing about it is that I will be more relax when I go back. 

Alright, I am going to continue watching my Kang Xi. Very cold. Goodnight!

(this is such a boring blog post. Meh)

Monday, 9 January 2012

First Post from Hong Kong :D


Hello from Hong Kong :D 

School has finally started. No lessons today though. My schedule this semester seems pretty relaxed since it's a 3 days week :) Went around to get my notebooks and foolscap paper from the school bookshop. Pretty cheap I guess? 

It would be a long day for me tomorrow. 9.30am to 9.30pm with a 3 hour break in between. Yawns- I pray that I do not die.

Anyway, Hong Kong has been pretty good to me. Other than the cold weather, I am adapting pretty well :) Met awesome friends too! Haven't been hanging out with the singaporeans though. Been hanging out with mostly Malaysians, Taiwanese and Canadians! :D Oh and one American too! 


Went to the Horseracing track. Sigh, but I lost. HKD40 :( Sobs. 


My happiest moment thus far is being able to meet up with friends that I have lost contact with for so so long. I miss the two of you a lot :'( 


While meeting new friends, I miss old friends too. I don't have to talk so much when I am with old friends because they would know what I am thinking and everyone would be talking. But when meeting new friends, there's always the fear of awkward silence. Yawns- so tired of talking. Seriously. Yawns-


This is the clique that I have been hanging out with these few days. :) 
Left to right: Luca (Taiwanese), Peggy (TW), ME!!, Frances (American), Peizhen (Singaporean), Elsa (canadian), Wanru (TW)

International hor my clique? Lol.


While I am typing this entry, I am watching Skip beat (the anime version) in the background. I am interested in the storyline but I guess I am just going to continue watching the idol drama version just for Sihae -.-'' but the acting not very good.

Contemplating on heading to Taiwan for CNY celebrations. Money money money. Spending a lot of money here. I have already spent a hefty sum of HKD3500 ever since I touched down and it has been only a week. Seriously wtf man. But ok la daily necessities plus shopping. I will cut down on the shopping anyway, I think? (I hope)

Okay okay, I am going out for dinner now. Goodbye whoever is reading this space. Love and miss yall